Kick Drum Heart


This little light of mine ?
12 January 2010, 9:58 pm
Filed under: Writing

I just finished a letter to Michael. Finally. My first one completed since mid-July.

I know I’m pathetic.

But at least I really do try to be a friend, you know? I’ve realized lately that the more I try to be genuinely friendly and caring toward other people who I might not normally make the effort toward, the better I feel.

For example, talking to Taylor Nielson seriously, instead of brushing off his crazy remarks. Really trying to listen to him and attempting to have him listen to himself, haha.

Or, I don’t know. Just, interacting with people so far this week has made me happy. Even little comments that might make someone feel a smidgeon better about themselves seem to pop out of my mouth more than normal. Encouraging things, or teasing things. Just small notions that, if reciprocated, would make me feel loved.

I don’t care if they are reciprocated. Just the thought that I might be improving someone else’s day has brightened mine lately.

I hope this stays. I know it probably reads mad corny, but I like to make other people feel good. It’s been a while since I’ve felt like I could be a positive person. I want it to stick.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment